About us

Poverty and exclusion are an unfortunate fact of life. They take different shapes and hide behind many different faces. Women, men, children, young people, and families in difficulty depend on the invaluable help of the 1,500 organizations and projects supported by the 18 Centraide du Québec branches across Quebec to turn things around for the better. Each branch raises money in its own region, judiciously investing the proceeds to boost its impact and foster a better quality of life for its most vulnerable fellow citizens and — ultimately — our community.

 
 

Quebec’s 18 Centraide:
The strength of a network,
the effectiveness of local action

Over 1.3 million Quebeckers experience the effects of poverty and social exclusion on a daily basis. Women, men, children, youth and families in difficulty rely on the invaluable assistance of 1,500 agencies and projects supported by Quebec’s 18 Centraide to overcome their hardship.

The initiatives of these different Centraide are locally targeted and adapted to regional realities. Yet they all share the same mission, as the fight against poverty and social exclusion has no borders. Poverty has multiple faces, and its causes are increasingly complex. This is why Centraide supports such a vast network of resources in diverse areas: food insecurity, school dropouts, homelessness, delinquency, violence, drug addiction, mental health problems, isolation and other issues.

To help the vulnerable in their communities, each Centraide organizes an annual regional fundraising campaign. This vast mobilization effort engages the generosity and commitment of hundreds of thousands of donors and volunteers, which has given rise to one of Quebec’s largest movements of support and mutual aid.

But Centraide’s strength is not limited to its ability to collect donations. Quebec’s Centraide are also keenly aware of the realities of their particular communities. They can identify the resources that are in the best position to make a difference. The funds raised in their territories are invested in local agencies and projects that are recognized for breaking the cycle of poverty among children, youth and families, for reaching out to marginalized people, and for supporting neighbourhoods or municipalities that face significant challenges.

 
 
 

Committees of volunteers from different activity sectors ensure that the entire funding allocation process is impartial and effective. The members of each Centraide board of directors, who also possess diverse expertise and knowledge, make sure that donors’ contributions are managed soundly and targeted based on a territory’s particular issues and priorities. Each Centraide therefore has its own independent structure and board of directors.

Quebec’s 18 Centraide share practices and collaborate on various initiatives. They inspire each other to drive progress and act more effectively.

By contributing to Centraide, donors help their fellow citizens in need regain control over their lives. They also support all Centraide in their joint actions to prevent social problems and improve living conditions for the entire population of Quebec. In the end, all of society benefits!

Qui nous sommes

La pauvreté et l'exclusion existent bel et bien chez nous... malheureusement. Elles prennent différentes formes et se cachent derrière de nombreux visages. Femmes, hommes, enfants, jeunes et familles en difficulté comptent sur l’aide précieuse des 1 500 organismes et projets que les 18 Centraide du Québec soutiennent à travers la province pour s'en sortir. Chaque Centraide recueille dans sa région pour y investir ensuite avec le souci constant d'accroître son impact et de favoriser une meilleure qualité de vie pour ses concitoyennes et concitoyens plus vulnérables et, au bout du compte, pour toute notre communauté.

 
 

Les 18 Centraide du Québec:
la force d'un réseau,
l'efficacité des actions locales

Plus de 1,3 million de Québécoises et de Québécois vivent quotidiennement dans un état de pauvreté et d’exclusion. Femmes, hommes, enfants, jeunes et familles en difficulté comptent sur l’aide précieuse des 1 500 organismes et projets soutenus par les 18 Centraide du Québec pour s’en sortir.

Les actions des Centraide sont locales et adaptées aux réalités de leur région. Mais ils partagent la même mission, car la lutte contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion n’a pas de frontières. Cette pauvreté a des visages multiples et des causes de plus en plus complexes. C’est ce qui explique l’ampleur du réseau des ressources appuyées par Centraide et la diversité de leurs champs d’intervention : insécurité alimentaire, décrochage scolaire, itinérance, délinquance, violence, toxicomanie, problèmes de santé mentale, isolement et autres.

Pour venir en aide aux personnes vulnérables de sa communauté, chacun des Centraide organise une campagne de financement annuelle dans sa région. Cette vaste mobilisation fait appel à la générosité et à l’engagement de centaines de milliers de donateurs et de bénévoles, ce qui donne naissance à l’un des plus importants mouvements d’entraide et de solidarité de tout le Québec.

Mais la force de Centraide ne se limite pas à recueillir des dons. Les Centraide sont bien au fait des réalités de leurs milieux respectifs. Ils sont donc en mesure d’identifier les ressources les mieux placées pour agir. Les fonds récoltés sur leur territoire sont investis auprès d’organismes et de projets locaux reconnus pour briser le cycle de la pauvreté chez les enfants, les jeunes et les familles, sortir de l’isolement les personnes exclues et appuyer les quartiers ou les localités confrontés à des défis importants.

 
 
 

Des comités de bénévoles provenant de différents secteurs d’activité assurent l’impartialité et l’efficacité de tout le processus d’attribution des fonds aux organismes. Cette diversité des expertises et des connaissances se retrouve également au sein des bénévoles des conseils d’administration qui veillent à ce que l’argent des donateurs soit géré avec rigueur et en conformité avec les enjeux et priorités de chacun des territoires. D’ailleurs, chaque Centraide a son conseil d’administration, sa structure et son autonomie propres.

Les 18 Centraide du Québec partagent leurs façons de faire et collaborent à des initiatives communes. Ils s’inspirent mutuellement pour faire avancer les choses, pour agir toujours plus efficacement.

En contribuant à Centraide, les donateurs aident leurs concitoyennes et concitoyens vulnérables à reprendre du pouvoir sur leur vie. Mais ils soutiennent également les Centraide dans leurs actions conjointes visant à prévenir les problèmes sociaux et à améliorer les conditions de vie de l’ensemble de la population québécoise. En fin de compte, c’est toute la société qui en profite!